Linkedin YouTube
Home Telephone Location

The John Gordon Safety Person Of The Year Award 2021

Sponsored by Safety Advice Centre

Everyone has an important role to play in relation to health and safety in their company or organisation.

The Northern Ireland Safety Group recognises the important contributions that many individuals make towards safety, health, wellbeing and incident prevention.

The John Gordon ‘Safety Person of the Year’ Award is designed to celebrate the individual who has made the greatest contribution to health and safety in their workplace in the last year.

2020 winner - Lisa Haycock from Farrans (pictured with nominator Mike Purkess, Health & Safety Manager, Farrans).

Listen to Lisa talk about her role in Farrans and how it conributed to her winning the Award.

What We Are Looking For

The spirit of the Award is to honour the individual who goes above and beyond their role in the pursuit of good health and safety, therefore anyone can be nominated!

There are no restrictions on who can win. Applications for all individuals will be treated in exactly the same way, including managers (however senior) who have gone the extra mile and demonstrated superior safety leadership.

Nominations are particularly welcomed from those who do not work directly in a health and safety role and who do not have a health and safety qualification higher than a NEBOSH Certificate or its equivalent.



Award Winner Notification on 30th June 2021

Award Presentation - TBA

Entry Process

Designed not to take you more than 1 hour to complete the 3 documents below will take you through the process.

  • Download the entry guidelines below.
  • Download the entry form below.
  • Download the Q & A fact sheet below.

Please read the guidelines before submitting an entry.

For further information contact NISG Secretary Ernie Spence:-

Tel: 028 9336 8928
Mob: 07938 049270
Email: info@nisg.org.uk


We would like to thank Bill McAllister from

Who sponsors the Award on a yearly basis.


  • award_entry_form_2021(1)
  • qa_-_john_gordon_award_2021
  • award_guidelines_for_2021

Our Partners and Associates