Linkedin YouTube
Home Telephone Location

The John Gordon Safety Person Of The Year Award 2023

Sponsored by Safety Advice Centre

Everyone has an important role to play in relation to health and safety in their company or organisation.

The Northern Ireland Safety Group recognises the important contributions that many individuals make towards safety, health, wellbeing and incident prevention.

The John Gordon ‘Safety Person of the Year’ Award is designed to celebrate the individual who has made the greatest contribution to health and safety in their workplace in the last year.

2022 winners - .

Laura & Bill McAllister, Safety Advice Centre, Ashleigh Birkett, NISG Chair, nominee Yvonne Conway

& seated winner 2022 Gary Gardner both from Woodvale Construction

Gary has made an outstanding contribution to H&S at Woodvale Construction, primarily by knowledge sharing and providing mentoring and a positive influence on the next generation. 

He has been instrumental in introducing new technologies to the business, including taking on in-house training to provide bespoke learning paths focused on the business H&S needs, which also make economic sense and add measurable value. He has also engaged the workforce in a "Target = Zero" focus on injuries, harm to the environment, defects and damage on their projects. 

Laura & Bill McAllister, Safety Advice Centre, Ashleigh Birkett, NISG Chair,

nominee Martin O'Farrell and seated winner 2022 Robert Supel both from The Deluxe Group

Robert makes a significant contribution to safety within The Deluxe Group's operations by being an inspiring leader and teacher for young team members.

As Machine Shop Supervisor he demonstrates a genuine enthusiasm for his craft and the safe use of the machine shop equipment.

He has been involved in delivering an extensive in-house safety training programme and drawing upon his many years of experience to effectively and efficiently communicate the correct and safe use of specialist machinery. 

 Robert's patience and dedication are commendable, and he truly makes a difference within the company.

Listen to previous winner Lisa Haycock talk about her role in Farrans and how it contributed to her winning the award in 2020.

What We Are Looking For

The spirit of the Award is to honour the individual who goes above and beyond their role in the pursuit of good health and safety, therefore anyone can be nominated!

There are no restrictions on who can win. Applications for all individuals will be treated in exactly the same way, including managers (however senior) who have gone the extra mile and demonstrated superior safety leadership.

Nominations are particularly welcomed from those who do not work directly in a health and safety role and who do not have a health and safety qualification higher than a NEBOSH Certificate or its equivalent.


FINAL DATE FOR SUBMISSIONS - Friday 29th September 2023.

Award Winner Notification October 2023

Award Presentation - Thursday 9th November, 2023 at NISG 70th Anniversary Gala Dinner at La Mon Hotel, Belfast (Evening Gala Dinner and Awards Presentation).

Entry Process

Designed not to take you more than 1 hour to complete the 3 documents below will take you through the process.

  • Download the entry guidelines below.
  • Download the entry form below.
  • Download the Q & A fact sheet below.

Please read the guidelines before submitting an entry.

For further information contact NISG Joint Secretary Nicola McCracken:-

Mob: 07966 019575
Email: admin@nisg.org.uk


We would like to thank Bill McAllister from

Who sponsors the Award on a yearly basis.


  • jg_award_-_qa_doc_2023_final
  • jg_award_entry_form_2023_final
  • jg_award_guidelines_2023_final

Our Partners and Associates